The Secret Lives of the Four Wives: A Novel USED BOOK

On Hand: 1
$7.50
SKU: 9910181312U
About This Copy
Condition: 
Good
Signed Copy?: 
No
Inscribed?: 
No
Ex-Library?: 
No
Primary Author: 
Shoneyin, Lola
Other Authors: 
Shoneyin, Lola
Binding Type: 
Paperback
Publisher: 
William Morrow Paperbacks
Publication Date: 
07/05/2011
Book Description: 

African-born poet Lola Shoneyin sheds a fascinating light on the little-known world of polygamy in modern-day Nigeria, in her powerful and thought-provoking debut novel, The Secret Lives of the Four Wives (previously titled The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives). Fans of The 19th Wife and HBO’s Big Love will be enthralled by this riveting tale of a prosperous African family thrown into turmoil when the patriarch adds a young, well-educated fourth wife into the mix who threatens to expose the other wives’ deepest, darkest secrets.

“Alternately funny, shocking, and sad . . . a complex depiction of family and culture in modern-day Nigeria.
Sacramento Book Review

“A magical writer. . . . [A] delicious story.”—Huffington Post


 

ISBN: 
9780061946387
Section: 

This Just In!

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events available